Tuesday, 12 May 2009

Hot Docs 2009 Winners


You've had your say, here are the top ten audience choice winners:
1. The Cove
3. Inside Hana's Suitcase
4. Best Worst Movie
5. A Hard Name
6. Over the Hills and Far Away / The Horse Boy
7. Winnebago Man
8. Burma VJ
9. Rough Aunties
10. Prom Night in Mississippi

Juried Awards:

The Best International Feature Award goes to The One Man Village (Dir: Simon El Habre)

The Special Jury Prize - International Feature goes to Cooking History (Dir: Peter Kerekes;

The Best Canadian Feature Award goes to Invisible City (Dir: Hubert Davis)

The Special Jury Prize – Canadian Feature goes to Waterlife (Dir: Kevin McMahon)

The Best Mid-Length Documentary Award goes to Rabbit à la Berlin (Dir: Bartek Konopka)

The Best Short Documentary Award goest to The Delian Mode (Dir: Kara Blake)

The HBO Emerging Artist Award goes to Chung-ryoul Lee, director of Old Partner

Outstanding Achievement Award goes to Alanis Obomsawin (Professor Norman Cornett - "Since When Do We Divorce the Right Answer from an Honest Answer?)

documentary’s Don Haig Award goes to Brett Gaylor (RiP!: A REMIX MANIFESTO)
Runner up: Tracey Deer (Club Native)

The Lindalee Tracey Award has been award to two filmmakers: Laura Bari and Will Inrig

Congratulations to all!

The Hot Docs Festival Jury, which decided on films in competition, were:

Canadian Features:
Nahid Persson Sarvestani, filmmaker; Sky Sitney, director of programming, SILVERDOCS; Geoff Pevere, columnist, The Toronto Star.

International Features:
John Greyson, filmmaker; Cara Mertes, director of the Documentary Film Program, Sundance Institute; Esther van Messel, CEO, First Hand Films.

Short and Mid-Length Films:
Sara Diamond, president, Ontario College of Art and Design; Marie-Anne Raulet, director, Rencontres internationales du documentaire de Montréal; Jean Marie Téno, filmmaker.


No comments:

All content on Movie Moxie is written by Shannon Ridler, © 2006 - 2012