Wednesday, 3 November 2010

13th British Independent Film Awards Nominations

The nominations for the 2010 British Independent Film Awards were just announced on November 1, 2010 and calibre of the films is high again this year. Top number of nominations went to The King's Speech (TIFF 2010 Audience Choice Winner) with 8 nominations, then tying at 6 nominations each is the phenomenal book to film adaptation Never Let Me Go and Monsters. Familiar titles continue with the just released here in Toronto Tamara Drewe, geek fave Kick-Ass and art documentary Exit Through the Gift Shop.

Although not all titles have yet to hit Toronto screens we will see some of them soon, including Monsters (November 12, 2010), Made in Dagenham (November 26, 2010) and The King's Speech (December 10, 2010), however now word yet on Four Lions, Another Year, The Arbor and Brighton Rock. Fingers crossed we will see them soon!

BIFA 2010 will take place on Sunday December 5, 2010 at Old Billingsgate in London, England.

2010 BIFA Nominations

Best British Independent Film
Four Lions
Never Let Me Go
The King's Speech

Best Director of a British Independent Film
Mike Leigh for Another Year
Matthew Vaughn for Kick-Ass
Gareth Edwards for Monsters
Mark Romanek for Never Let Me Go
Tom Hooper for The King's Speech

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)
Debs Gardner-Paterson for Africa United
Rowan Joffe for Brighton Rock
Chris Morris for Four Lions
Gareth Edwards for Monsters
Clio Barnard for The Arbor

Best Screenplay
Jesse Armstrong, Sam Bain, Simon Blackwell and Chris Morris for Four Lions
Jane Goldman and Matthew Vaughn for Kick-Ass
William Ivory for Made in Dagenham
Alex Garland for Never Let Me Go
David Seidler for The King's Speech

Best Performance by an Actress in a British Independent Film
Ruth Sheen for Another Year
Andrea Riseborough for Brighton Rock
Sally Hawkins for Made in Dagenham
Carey Mulligan for Never Let Me Go
Manjinder Virk for The Arbor

Best Performance by an Actor in a British Independent Film
Jim Broadbent for Another Year
Riz Ahmed for Four Lions
Scoot McNairy for Monsters
Colin Firth for The King's Speech
Aidan Gillen for Treacle Junior

Best Supporting Actress
Lesley Manville for Another Year
Rosamund Pike for Made in Dagenham
Keira Knightley for Never Let Me Go
Tamsin Greig for Tamara Drewe
Helena Bonham Carter for The King's Speech

Best Supporting Actor
Kayvan Novak for Four Lions
Bob Hoskins for Made in Dagenham
Andrew Garfield for Never Let Me Go
Geoffrey Rush for The King's Speech
Guy Pearce for The King's Speech

Most Promising Newcomer
Andrea Riseborough for Brighton Rock
Tom Hughes for Cemetery Junction
Joanne Froggatt for In Our Name
Conor McCarron for Neds
Manjinder Virk for The Arbor

Best Achievement In Production
In Our Name
Streetdance 3D
The Arbor

The Raindance Award
for "honours exceptional achievement for filmmakers working against the odds, often with little or no industry support."
Jackboots on Whitehall
Son of Babylon
Treacle Junior

Best Technical Achievement
John Mathieson for Brighton Rock
Gareth Edwards for Monsters
Tim Barker for The Arbor
Sylvain Chomet for The Illusionist
Eve Stewart for The King's Speech

Best British Documentary
Enemies of the People
Exit Through the Gift Shop
Fire In Babylon
The Arbor
Waste Land

Best British Short Film
Photograph of Jesus
Sign Language
The Road Home

Best Foreign Independent Film
A Prophet
I Am Love
The Secret In Their Eyes
Winter's Bone

The BIFAs were created in 1998 to "set out to celebrate merit and achievement in independently funded British filmmaking, to honour new talent, and to promote British films and filmmaking to a wider public."

Eligibility Criteria 2010:

"It is intended for theatrical release, AND has had a public screening to a paying audience either on general release in the UK OR has screened at a British-based film festival between 1 December 2009 and 30 November 2010.

Where there is any major studio substantially funding a film, the total budget must not exceed $20M .

It has been produced or majority co-produced by a British company OR is in receipt of at least 51% of its budget from a British source or sources OR it qualifies as a British film under the DCMS guidelines AND includes sufficient creative elements from the UK.

BIFA also consider foreign independent films for the Best Foreign Independent Film category. Foreign films must have a British theatrical release during the eligibility period stated above.

Best British Short Film Award submissions: Any British short films that have won an award between 16 October 2009 and 15 October 2010 are eligible for consideration. A short film must be no longer than 40 minutes (including credits).

Films that have been entered previously are not eligible. Re-issues of previously released films are not eligible.

All films submitted for consideration are viewed by the Advisory Committee with the help of a nominated screening panel, who then decide the nominations by ballot.

All nominated films will be viewed by an independent jury. The winners will be decided by a secret ballot.

Full Eligibility Criteria may be viewed at:"

No comments:

All content on Movie Moxie is written by Shannon Ridler, © 2006 - 2012